Testimonials

We'd Welcome Your Feedback!

Thank you for visiting our website. Your input is important to us. Please provide your valuable feedback, email us to review@gabrielshimunov.com Here are some testimonials from our clients
 
 
 
 
I can’t say enough about how pleased I was with Gabriel Shimunov Salon! I was blessed to have Ashley cut, color and style my sad hair, and she seriously performed a miracle! Not only did I look great when I left, it’s been a dream every day since! My daughter was paired up with Sabina, and she felt the same way about her experience. Beautiful salon, great ambience, totally pampered. AMAZING!
— Heather Green 9/26/17
Desert R. Santa Fe, NM

Desert R. Santa Fe, NM

Christine L. New York, NY

Christine L. New York, NY

Katryna M. New York, NY

Katryna M. New York, NY

Roci L. San Antonio, TX

Roci L. San Antonio, TX

I am so happy that I found this place! Sabina did an amazing job on my hair, i will definitely be back!
— Natallia Popchanka 6/26/17
I absolutely loved my experience at this salon and could not speak more highly of the place and the staff. My train was so late but they went out of their way to accommodate me. I had a beautiful colour and blow wave from Sabena and could not be happier with her work. I will definitely be back. Thank you so much!
— Alayna Powley 6/20/17
I can absolutely recommend this hair salon. I was treated very friendly and felt comfortable in the salon. Ashley did a great job. I will come back.
— Nadine Fell 6/17/17
My hair looks really great and I really enjoyed my time at the salon! Ashley is super talented. Also got a blow out and styling from Kelly
— Lorena Chan 6/15/17
Absolutely wonderful work of Sabina changed my attitude to my own curls! Who knew I would love them?!Sabina spent two hours on cutting my hair short. I did not have any expectations when I came the salon, just needed a short Haircut. I’m grateful to Sabina for finding a new look for me. I’m definitely coming back)) thanks a lot
— Jane Blumenshine 5/28/17
Jane B. New York, NY

Jane B. New York, NY

Elise A. New York, NY

Elise A. New York, NY

Miryam A. New Paltz, NY

Miryam A. New Paltz, NY

Rachael M. Trumbull, CT

Rachael M. Trumbull, CT

Maureen S. Manhattan, New York, NY

Maureen S. Manhattan, New York, NY

Robbie E. New York, NY

Robbie E. New York, NY

I went in with quiet a few issues with my hair and left with it feeling and looking flawless! Everyone was so helpful and friendly and my overall experience was great. I love the outcome of my hair.
— Val Spro 3/11/17
Bridget H. Kissimmee, FL

Bridget H. Kissimmee, FL

Susannah K. Denver, CO

Susannah K. Denver, CO

Yusra F. Burbank, CA

Yusra F. Burbank, CA

My sister-in-law and I wanted to get our hair blown out while vacationing in NYC. We are so happy we found Gabriel Shimunov! Geralzine and Yajira did a FABULOUS job on our hair! The salon was very relaxing and Gabriel was wonderful. Next time we visit the city we will be back! Thanks so much for an amazing experience!
— Laura Travison 1/5/17
Great and professional service. The stylist was very friendly, thorough, and my hair after the keratin treatment is perfect.
— Suzanne Fromm 11/4/16
Amanda R. New York, NY

Amanda R. New York, NY

Rebecca L. New York, NY

Rebecca L. New York, NY

Rebecca S. Henderson, NC

Rebecca S. Henderson, NC

Melanie P. Bayside, NY

Melanie P. Bayside, NY

Dhriti D. Morris Park, Bronx, NY

Dhriti D. Morris Park, Bronx, NY

Mary S. Greenwich, CT

Mary S. Greenwich, CT

I went to three different Hair salon to get my hair done (Ash blond). this place was the only one who succeeded doing an amazing job with my color and made it exactly the way I wanted. The staff is super friendly and make you feel super confortable. I spent 4hours at the salon but they made it looks like time flied by.
Amazing prestation !
— Emma Nikolovski 10/22/16
Chen C. Hicksville, NY

Chen C. Hicksville, NY

Judith S. Manhattan, NY

Judith S. Manhattan, NY

Maura G. Manhattan, NY

Maura G. Manhattan, NY

I had an excellent experience at Gabriel Shimunov. I purchased the Gilt voucher for keratin straightening and the salon had prompt availability and worked to accommodate my work schedule.

Upon arrival, the salon is small and bright, not hectic or overly loud. I was greeted by my stylist, Jessica, who explained to me the various straightening lines they had available and helped me to decide what was best for my hair. Jessica was well-informed, thoughtful and very personable. Once we decided on the product, she washed me and quickly got to work. With the assistance of another stylist, Geraldine, they had me in and out in an hour and a half. This is nearly unheard of for a straightening treatment, and at no point did I feel rushed or as though they weren’t taking enough care. Additionally, due to the specialized ventilation system, there were virtually no fumes, which is an enormous plus when it comes to how noxious some of these treatments can be when heated.

Garbiel himself rang me up and was very gracious. I walked out with smoother, silkier hair and am very pleased with the results. Overall, it was a terrific experience and I highly recommend it.
— Courtney Gratta 9/13/16
Samantha O. Wilmington, DE

Samantha O. Wilmington, DE

Ana D. New York, NY

Ana D. New York, NY

Alia A. Manhattan, NY

Alia A. Manhattan, NY

Grace L. Manhattan, NY 

Grace L. Manhattan, NY 

Salon Gabriel is a breath of fresh air in this busy city. Gabriel and his Team are super talented and clearly love their work. I can thoroughly recommend this Salon!
— Jane Morris 8/25/16
My first visit to Gabriel Shimunov Salon was fantastic. All the hairdressers were kind and outgoing, clearly wishing for the best experience possible. The space is clean and modern, overlooking a nice part of the city, and with an air circulator machine which prevents chemical fumes from accumulating inside. The professional who took care of my hair recommended a different treatment for me than the one I originally wanted, which I was a little suspicious about, but she patiently listened to my concerns and was ultimately very accommodating of my request. In the end, my hair looked absolutely gorgeous — and although I have yet to witness the full effects of the treatment, I was very pleased with the Salon experience. All in all, I am very happy to have discovered this Salon and look forward to returning soon!
— Mariana Olaizola 8/21/16
Sarah H. Levittown, NY

Sarah H. Levittown, NY

Had a Great Men’s cut yesterday with J. She was very meticulous at making me happy. It was a very professional cut and all of the staff had a good energy.

I’ll be coming back and recommending to friends.
— Christopher Conroy 8/17/16
Leah F. Manhattan, NY

Leah F. Manhattan, NY

Jewell H. Port Washington, NY

Jewell H. Port Washington, NY

I got a Brazilian Blowout today by Jessica and it looks fabulous. Plus, the salon is friendly, peaceful and has a lovely view. They’re going to be seeing a lot more of me there. I really love the vent they use to suck away the fumes from the Brazilian Blowout chemicals. It made the process a lot more pleasant.
— Anastasia Bosakowski 8/5/16
Ingrid R. Manhattan, NY

Ingrid R. Manhattan, NY

Gabriel gave me an amazing pixie cut. I’ve never had short hair before, but I love it!
— Alysia Pappas 7/25/16
Margaret W. Bedford, NY

Margaret W. Bedford, NY

Susan W. Mamaroneck, NY

Susan W. Mamaroneck, NY

Alexander V. Old Bridge, NJ

Alexander V. Old Bridge, NJ

I do my own hair almost exclusively. I learned this the hard way because any time I have trusted a hair salon in Manhattan, it has been a horrible experience.

Everything from bad cuts, bad blow outs or they just don’t listen to me (I’m a soft spoken girl) so I stay away from non-ethnic salons. But I really wanted to try a Brazilian Blowout and I couldn’t do it on myself so I took a chance here after reading the reviews.

I love Gabriel Shimunov. Allow me to emphasize. LOVE. My stylist Bahia was amazing! She listened, she made sure I was comfortable with the process and she kept me laughing. Gabriel himself was an absolute dear!

I kid you not, I have never walked out of a Manhattan hair salon with perfectly smooth hair. I have Dominican waves with unruly baby hairs and Bahia slayed them like I never have! I wanted to wait until after my first wash to confirm but the treatment was a success! My hair no longer starts off as year 7 Hermione Granger and slowly puffs up to year one as I walk to the office.

They were not pushy with the products but I already knew I wanted to get them and I made this known right away. I love this place and I cannot wait for my touch up :)
— Adrielly A. Rosenfeld 6/16/16
Royce C. West New York, NJ

Royce C. West New York, NJ

Julia H. New York, NY

Julia H. New York, NY

I couldn’t be happier with my services at Gabriel Shimunov’s salon. The stylist took the time to personalize my keratin treatment and give me detailed attention based on my specific needs. My hair is looking better than ever thanks to Gabriel Shimunov!
— Carmit Posner 6/3/16
Lauren C. Williamsburg - North Side, Brooklyn, NY

Lauren C. Williamsburg - North Side, Brooklyn, NY

S T. New York, NY

S T. New York, NY

Jake P. Manhattan, NY

Jake P. Manhattan, NY

Ivy J. Manhattan, NY

Ivy J. Manhattan, NY

It was an amazing experience. Ashley was my stylist and she did a wonderful job!!!
— Oscar Martinz 5/20/16
Received a great Brazilian Blowout in less than 1.5 hours. The staff was very friendly and the salon was clean and appealing. They had a air purifier machine so you did not smell any of the odors from the chemical treatment. They customized my treatment to fit my needs and it turned out perfect! Will definitely be back.
— Jessica Tapfar 5/18/16
Farah A. Manhattan, NY

Farah A. Manhattan, NY

Kerry M. Manhattan, NY

Kerry M. Manhattan, NY

Friendly staff, cool space and a good haircut
— Tom Garvey 5/1/16
Very good service and amazing staff.
— Jorge Luis Figueroa 4/29/16
Katie O. Lakewood Township, NJ

Katie O. Lakewood Township, NJ

I was very happy with the service I received. Gabriel greeted me at the door and showed me to my seat. Ashley, my colorist, came over and discussed my needs and also provided some good insight on what could be done today and for consideration in the future. My color came out exactly as I had requested and all my gray hairs were covered. The blow out from Gabriel was fantastic with a lot of volume which should carry over in the next day or two. Overall, I was VERY happy and will be a returning customer!
Thank you!
— Sharon Parobeck 4/20/16
I was pleasantly surprised by the service I received. I called for a Keratin appointment and was able to get in the same day. The Greenwich salon was easy to find and had available parking. I have had Keratin treatments done many times before and usually cry through them because of the chemical smell, but this salon had a ventilation system that I have never seen used before. There was no smell or crying this time! Will definitely go back again for another Keratin. The salon was clean, small and quiet. Everyone there was fantastic!
— Heather Oneill 4/18/16
Gabriel was terrific. Professional and made my hair look gorgeous. I will definitely be back whenever I’m in the City
— Betty Kaye 4/18/16
Andrea M. Fort Lee, NJ

Andrea M. Fort Lee, NJ

Outstanding!! Such a terrific find. My hair looks fabulous and I am so happy. Thank you and know I will be back and I will bring my sister.
— Dorian Hansen 4/12/16
Fantastic staff and service!!! Very accommodating to my busy schedule, and surprisingly affordable in comparison to the high quality of the hair style!
— Eleuthera Anderson 4/9/16
Jane A. Nanuet, NY

Jane A. Nanuet, NY

Calm, clean, beautiful salon studio. Amazing Brazilian Blow Dry by Ashley. Go for it!
— Amanda Nichols 4/8/16
Loved the experience, great salon. Ashley was very good.
— Anish Kelkar 4/7/16
Swati A. Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan, NY

Swati A. Hell's Kitchen, Manhattan, NY

I had an amazing experience getting my hair done here. I would definitely recommend this salon to anyone with all types of hair. All the staff members make you feel comfortable as soon as you walk in the door. They are energetic and make you feel so good. I have very curly, frizzy and long hair. I had a brazilian blowout and bayalage; it turned out better than I had imagined. I am usually scared when I go to a hair salon that I do not know nothing about, but I definitely found my new hair salon. I love the fact that everyone works together willingly. Thank you everyone at Gabriel Shimunov, you will definitely be seeing me again when it is time for me to touch up!!!!
— Justyn Ortiz 3/31/16
Gabriel and Ashley were fantastic! Service was super and personal. They accomidated us last minute and were very professional and worked with our timeline, even while we arrived late! Highly reccomendation for any salon hair needs.
— Brenda Reynolds 3/30/16
Chloé O. Atherton, CA

Chloé O. Atherton, CA

Nicole P. Los Angeles, CA

Nicole P. Los Angeles, CA

I had the most fabulous haircut at the salon! The salon itself is like a little oasis of calm in an otherwise hectic midtown. It’s beautiful peaceful and very calming.
Back to the haircut…….divine! It was perfect, probably the best haircut I’ve had….ever.
I highly recommend the salon, and Ashley ( I think that’s who cut my hair, it’s been a few weeks and I can’t find the card :() You won’t be disappointed!
— Tracy Finkel 3/24/16
Jeremy G. Brooklyn, NY

Jeremy G. Brooklyn, NY

Sara I. Washington, DC

Sara I. Washington, DC

Natalee P. Stamford, CT

Natalee P. Stamford, CT

Andrew J.

Andrew J.

Olga N.

Olga N.

Charles H.

Charles H.

Dora N.

Dora N.

Andrea F. Brooklyn, NY

Andrea F. Brooklyn, NY

Natalia A.

Natalia A.

Chanel R.

Chanel R.

Jay A. New York, NY

Jay A. New York, NY

Wally H.

Wally H.

Virginia S. New Rochelle, NY

Virginia S. New Rochelle, NY

Stephanie C. Manhattan, NY

Stephanie C.

Manhattan, NY

Stefanie P. Greenwich, CT

Stefanie P.

Greenwich, CT

FABULOUS!!
I have tried a number of salons since my regular place closed......I FOUND IT!!!!!. Gabriel and his staff are wonderful. It is a small, personal salon that makes your needs the focus of the staff. I have never been so nicely treated as a customer as I have been in Gabriel’s salon. That’s not the best part!! I received the best styling and coloring ever. I have found the best salon. Thanks team Gabriel!
— Katie Meskell 11/22/15
Jamie F. New York, NY

Jamie F.

New York, NY

Eva B. Darien, CT

Eva B.

Darien, CT

Had a fantastic experience with Gabriel today and I LOVE my hair cut and style! I’ve been looking for a new stylist and I’ve found him!! The salon is beautiful and modern but still warm and friendly. I immediately felt like I was in GREAT hands! Such a Happy Hair day!! Choosing a hair stylist is important and you can trust Gabriel!
— Karmyn Cobb 11/13/15
Danielle F. Manhattan, NY

Danielle F.

Manhattan, NY

Nicole A. New York, NY

Nicole A.

New York, NY

Gabriel Shimunov, is wonderful. He’s sweet, talented and he really listens to what his clients want. Added plus - it’s super convenient that you can make an appointment online.
— Mandy Nissan 8/7/15
Gabriel is truly an expert when it comes to hair. My haircuts and blowouts have consistently looked amazing over the past few years and I ALWAYS get compliments from friends, family, and strangers. His work is truly unique and is taken very seriously. Thank you for always making me look beautiful!
— Danielle Scoli 11/6/15
Dora P. New York, NY

Dora P.

New York, NY

Judy B. Greenwich, CT

Judy B.

Greenwich, CT

OllieTwistMusic .. West Orange, NJ

OllieTwistMusic ..

West Orange, NJ

Kenneth M. Forest Hills, NY

Kenneth M.

Forest Hills, NY

Jory B. Greenwich, CT

Jory B.

Greenwich, CT

Melanie M. Brooklyn, NY

Melanie M.

Brooklyn, NY

Susie M. Stamford, CT

Susie M.

Stamford, CT

Olivia C. Greenwich, CT

Olivia C.

Greenwich, CT

I had a blowout, non Brazilian, today. My hair looks amazing! The experience was great and I left feeling empowered by my fabulous hair!
— Jamie Schleuning 10/14/15
Jeanne L. Greenwich, CT

Jeanne L.

Greenwich, CT

Great salon and great experience from start to finish! I have loved my cut every time. Very lucky to have Gabriel here in CT!
— Allison Hayes 10/12/15
Gabriel created a major change in my look. I had gone far too long without a haircut, and I had a mess of too-long, frizzy hair. He cut several inches and shaped it into a much sleeker, updated style. He was meticulous in doing the cut, making adjustments until it was to his standards. His colorist also did a great job getting the gray out of my hair and making it a rich dark brown close to my natural color, but better. The best part is that it has been remarkably easy to blow dry and style, and it holds it shape even the next day. I will definitely return!
— Kimberly Kaufman 10/12/15
This salon was small and very intimate. It created a personal experience which you don’t usually find in NYC. Gabriel was very flexible when I had to reschedule my appointment. The staff was friendly and I received a great haircut and blowout. The atmosphere and style was great. The woman who washed my hair was a little rough and aggressive so I didn’t enjoy the wash and massage too much. Everything else was great and I liked that Gabriel took before and after photos.
— Caitlin Bermingham 10/10/15
Mark R. New York, NY

Mark R.

New York, NY

Susan D. Stamford, CT

Susan D.

Stamford, CT

Marcella B. Greenwich, CT

Marcella B.

Greenwich, CT

Jody M. South Salem, NY

Jody M.

South Salem, NY

Kimberly K. Port Chester, NY

Kimberly K.

Port Chester, NY

Eve A. Stamford, CT

Eve A.

Stamford, CT

Cecilia S. Nyack, NY

Cecilia S.

Nyack, NY

  Zahava S. Manhattan, NY  

 

Zahava S.

Manhattan, NY

 

Lauren C. Stamford, CT

Lauren C.

Stamford, CT

Sara K. Manhattan Valley, Manhattan, 

Sara K.

Manhattan Valley, Manhattan, 

Michelle H. Bronx, NY

Michelle H.

Bronx, NY

Thank you, Gabriel, for a haircut that’s perfect every time!
— Paige Windle 9/25/15
Dawn C. Westport, CT

Dawn C.

Westport, CT

Amazing place and amazing treatment that last! I had a different treatment and it didn’t work as well as here. Every time I come to the city I come to this salon! I highly recommend
— Emily Abramoff 9/24/15
Karin C. Baltimore, MD

Karin C.

Baltimore, MD

Mallery P. Stratford, CT

Mallery P.

Stratford, CT

Gabriel and Bahia were not just good they were amazing. They have transformed my frizzy hair into a beautiful texture. My confidence has increased and I no longer hate my hair. I will be getting more and more Brazilian Blowouts at this wonderful salon.
— Judith Boksner 9/19/15
You know you got a great haircut when you love it the day Gabriel cut it and still love it when it’s time for your next haircut.
— Janet Albert 9/19/15
Vivian Z. Yonkers, NY

Vivian Z.

Yonkers, NY

I got so many compliments on my Brazilian Blow out and color after having my hair done here! Warm and friendly staff!
— Virginia Plath Kelly 9/18/15
Larissa F. Stamford, CT

Larissa F.

Stamford, CT

Heidi O. Wilton, CT

Heidi O.

Wilton, CT

Sandra R. New Canaan, CT

Sandra R.

New Canaan, CT

d d. Greenwich, CT

d d.

Greenwich, CT

I’ve done about 3 Brazilian Blowouts with Gabriel and plan to continue going to him and his awesome assistant. It has always been a pleasant experience and I’ve been very pleased with the results every time. I have extremely large and difficult hair; nevertheless they’ve taken their time to ensure a thorough process which I truly appreciate. I always receive a ton of complements from friends and family after getting my hair done with them and Gabriel’s assistant gives me great advice on how to maintain and better manage my hair after every appointment.

Overall, I highly recommend this salon and have not found another place like this in NYC.
— Jazary Olvera 8/29/15
Laura C. Greenwich, CT

Laura C.

Greenwich, CT

Judy B. Greenwich, CT

Judy B.

Greenwich, CT

Gabriel is the best hairstylist I have ever had! I use him for my haircuts and Brazilian Blowouts. Both the New York and Connecticut salons are very nice. This salon offers high quality personalized service. - Kiana Comizio
— Rebecca Comiz 8/18/15
I love this place! I did my Brazilian blowout in few other places before but non make it fun and easy as Gabriel Shimunov Hair Salon! My hair looks amazing after this treatment. Gabriel and his assistant are very professional and I can tell they know what they’re doing. I recommended to my friends and highly recommend it to you!
— Keren Weinberg 8/18/15
The salon is amazing! I was so impressed with the beautiful cut and color job that I made my next appointment already!
— Dara Kennedy 8/13/15
Lisanne M. Redding, CT

Lisanne M.

Redding, CT

The salon was very conveniently located (with parking) and they were extremely welcoming and friendly. Bahia did my color and since it was my first time there, she spent time discussing options for me and making sure I was happy. She did a great job; my color looks wonderful so I would definitely go back
— Francine Aber 8/9/15
Gabriel Shimunov is a great salon - the staff is super cool and super friendly. They play a fantastic mix of fun music - not lame lounge music,
So they recommend me some soft layers, very playful but elegant and in my face also some long soft layers to cover my round face shape.
And the color was also perfect. I didn’t want warm color, but as natural as possible. Best hair salon experience I’ve ever had!!!!
— Monica Wifers 8/5/15
Arlene O. Princeton, NJ

Arlene O.

Princeton, NJ

The vibe of the salon is amazing! Decor is fabulous, music is fabulous, the salon assistant is fabulous and Gabriel is PHENOMENAL!

I rarely get haircuts for two reasons; first, I am very low-maintenance and like bed-head, and second, I always end up paying exorbitant prices for incredibly mediocre haircuts, which is frustrating.
Salon Gabriel makes me want to get a haircut every single day. The atmosphere is totally great- no ultra modern interior, very laid back.
I have very long wavy/curly hair, and most stylists cut it as though it were straight- even stylists who claim to have special training for cutting curly hair. Gaberiel used a specific technique (the name escapes me) that is appropriate for wavy hair as well as straight, so I can let it air-dry or flat iron it. He used Kerastase products, which is what I use at home (a definite plus), and took his time. I wanted layers cut in while keeping the length. When he finished, my hair was soooo straight and incredibly shiny. The layers looked fabulous, and moved when I walked. After washing and styling curly, it looks equally incredible.

As I left the salon and walked back to the Whole Foods numerous vagrants made comments and whistled at me, and I’m pretty sure it was the hair. If that’s not a good recommendation, I don’t know what is.
— Jessica Zappera 5/8/15
Elena C. New York, NY

Elena C.

New York, NY

Samantha K. Manhattan, NY

Samantha K.

Manhattan, NY

Lindsey W. Manhattan, NY

Lindsey W.

Manhattan, NY

Gabriel gave me the best hair cut of my life and now 4 of my co-workers go to him as well AND!!! we all have a different look. He is amazingly talented and has a wonderful personality (quick-witted). I am grateful that I have a found him!!!!!!!
— Yeva Lova 2/12/15
Jen V. San Francisco, CA

Jen V.

San Francisco, CA

Penelope K. Greenwich, CT

Penelope K.

Greenwich, CT

Kate A. Greenwich, CT

Kate A.

Greenwich, CT

Natalie V. Greenwich, CT

Natalie V.

Greenwich, CT

Gabriel did a wonderful job. Loved the cut he gave, and the salon. I would recommend him.
— Barbara S. 10/22/14
J S. Greenwich, CT

J S.

Greenwich, CT

Lauralee Z. New York, NY

Lauralee Z.

New York, NY

Marina Y. New York, NY

Marina Y.

New York, NY

Tina B. Amawalk, NY

Tina B.

Amawalk, NY

Rebecca S. Manhattan, NY

Rebecca S.

Manhattan, NY

Kaitlyn Z. Floral Park, NY

Kaitlyn Z.

Floral Park, NY

Nikki N. New York, NY

Nikki N.

New York, NY

Jessica Z. Greenwich, CT

Jessica Z.

Greenwich, CT

Sonya S. Jersey City, NJ

Sonya S.

Jersey City, NJ

Michelle H. Coppell, TX

Michelle H.

Coppell, TX

I have very curly hair, and it has always been surprising how few stylists can actually give a good curly haircut Gabriel was fabulous. He listened to exactly what I was looking for and really took his time making sure everything was perfect. The cut looks great both curly and straightened. It’s been forever since I’ve had a cut that I could style so effortlessly and would look good all day long. Plus the prices are very reasonable!! Would definitely suggest curly headed girls try Gabrie
— Nina Geri 9/22/13
Since my stylist of 20 years retired in 2005, I’ve been hopping around in search for the best stylists for my straight hair. After seeing many different stylists as long as two years straight and not really loving it that much, my search continued. More than a year and half ago I decided to do research on great hair cutters. I came across Gabriel’s reviews. They were all excellent. I told many ladies at work about his talents but yet I was afraid to go to him thinking I may be the only one who doesn’t like the cut. because I’m very particular. Since I need a haircut every 8 weeks to maintain my style, I decided to try two new salons first & saw two different stylists over the past 1 1/2 years. I still wasn’t satisfied. I actually made two appointments with Gabriel and cancelled. Finally, I called him again and said I’m ready for haircut with you. He is talented, an artist who transformed my boring bob into an attractive layer cut. My husband said, “did you get a haircut? It’s nice”. My husband over the years says has only said, “did you get a haircut?” Never adding, “it’s nice”. I always had to ask him if he liked it. He never smiled like he did with this cut. People at work complimented the cut. They were like, “wow”. I feel young and hip with this cut. I have thick, medium density straight hair and Gabriel new how to give my hair volume. Gabriel gives individualized attention. Worth the money. The salon is clean, bright, playing soothing music and there’s a TV screen showing a fashion show while you wait. I will be back!
— Rita L 9/17/13
I originally went to Gabriel because of a very poor haircut from another salon. It was so poorly done, I didn’t think anyone could fix the cut without cutting my hair very short. He proved my fear unfounded. I was pleasantly surprised to find he books each client privately! You are not interrupted by others and have his total attention for the entire hour. He has a warm and patient personality and actually listens to your requests. My haircut was fantastic and is growing out beautifully. Gabriel is a true artist in every sense of the word. He “sculpts” your hair to fit your features. I feel his prices are very reasonable for the excellent service one receives. I highly recommend Gabriel Shimunov Hair Salon to anyone looking for technical expertise, and a calm and relaxing experience.
— Nancy C. 7/5/13
Love my hair...sir Gabriel.. Is a master...need I say more....
— Ama Trzi 4/30/13
Gabriel is excellent! Great blowdrys! Definitely recommend people go!
— Eugenia Cooney 3/30/13
I had a photo shoot 2 weeks ago. I have to thank Gabriel for styling my hair. Both the make-up artist and the clothes stylist complimented my hair-do. They asked me where I had my hair done. I also got compliments from my friends.
Hence, I have to say, you are the best, Gabriel.

I have tried so many salons over the years, but have not been happy with the results. It’s really the first time that I am very happy with the outcome.

Gabriel is a real pro. He’s also very kind and nice.
— Melena D. 2/12/13
I have been getting my haircut with Gabriel for about a year and every time its has been outstanding. The level of service is excellent. Gabriel is always listening for my wishes and is able to translate them into a beautiful haircuts. I am recommending him to all my friends. His service is simply perfec
— Irina Miretskiy 1/21/13
Diane S. Manhattan, NY

Diane S.

Manhattan, NY

After a disastrous haircut at Bumble & Bumble, I was looking for someone who could not only fix it but also give me a great haircut. I am extremely particular about my haircuts and generally appreciate hair stylists who understand their client’s needs and also have creative insights. Gabriel is totally fabulous! He understood what I wanted and gave me something even better. I was very impressed with his work and will definitely be going back to him! He is not only talented but also very affordable! Well done, Gabriel!!!
— 9/17/12
Gabriel S. has been cutting and styling my hair for years. I moved out of the country and tried other stylists. I had a mess on my hands.I long ago decided that if I was going to be happy I had to make the trip to New York and go only to Gabriel. He rocks! My hair is very curly and frizzy too. He gives me a cut that tames all of that and I always feel beautiful. I can let it air dry or flat iron it and it is always great.
Thank you Gabriel I’ll be back!
— Deanna Basjer 7/11/12
Jessica D. KNICKERBOCKER, NY

Jessica D.

KNICKERBOCKER, NY

Never felt so Happy. After a Brazilian Blowout, Gabriel saved me from a very dry, frizzy extremely tight curls, into soft, shiny smooth hair that I always want. I can actually feel my hair again. I love his haircut and the way he styled my hair.. PERFECT !!! I got compliments from everyone and I definitely recommend him to anyone who wants to get their hair done with a perfect service. He’s very friendly and welcoming, and I had a great time talking with him. He listened to what I want and explained all the procedures beforehand. GREAT JOB !!! I finally found the right hair dresser in NYC.
— 5/21/11
Gabriel was AMAZING!!! Very easy to get a last minute appointment and he is a miracle worker! He fixed a butchered haircut I had done and is a great stylist. I will be going to him for all of my future haircuts!
— 6/7/2011
Gabriel was great!!! I got the Brazilian Blowout done by him and he did such a great job!! I couldn’t be happier with my hair. I am definitely going back to him when I need some touching up! He was so personable and it was a pleasure from start to end.
— 7/3/2011
Pam K. Philadelphia, PA

Pam K.

Philadelphia, PA

12/5/2010
WOW, Pleasantly Surprised

I recently moved to North Jersey and was in need of a good haircut. I have to preface this by saying that I am VERY selective when it comes to who I trust with my hair. I was pleasantly surprised with Gabriel. He gave me such an amazing haircut. I have long straight hair and I wanted long layers, sounds simple. However, anyone who appreciates a good hair cut understands the difficulty in getting the layers right. He did such a great job and 3 weeks later I am still loving my haircut. I have been all over the place looking for a good hair stylist. I have lived in NYC, LA, Florida, Philly, and although I have a gotten a good cut here and there, he really is the best. It’s so rare to stumble upon someone who listens and actually does what you want. I couldn’t be happier and I can without hesitation recommend him.

On a side note, I paid $125 ( not cheap but in the range of most good stylists). I tried to tip him and he wouldn’t accept it. I don’t usually tip the owner but I was so pleased with the cut and my blowout.
— 12/5/2010
On a friend’s recommendation I reserved a haircut with Gabriel, the owner. I have very straight fine hair, which unlike curly hair leaves no room for error, so I tend to be a bit nervous about new stylists cutting my hair. I shouldn’t have worried a bit because Gabriel was just great. I told him what I wanted and what has gone wrong in the past with other haircuts but he quickly put me at ease. He took off as much as I told him to, not like some places where they try and convince you to do something different or they lop off too much. I was going to a party that night so Gabriel spent the time to really glam me up. My friends totally noticed the new cut and thanks to Gabriel.

Online booking is very convenient.
— 5/27/2010
For many years, I have been trying to find a good hairdresser. I found one. It is Gabriel S. He is the best hairdresser you will ever meet He cut my hair to perfection. I was very pleased. His is my number one hairdresser. And I tried all the big names. Nobody equals Gabriel’s expertise.
— 7/5/2010
Gabriel is very attentive. He listens and does what you ask him to do! If you want a certain length or style he DELIVERS! I’ll def. be going back to him.
— 7/19/2010
GABRIEL did an amazing job on my cut and blow-dry! He didn’t get all “scissor happy” with my hair, instead he gave me a great cut and left the length just the way I like it. He is also really sweet and fun to hang out with... makes it a very pleasant experience.
— 1/25/2010